OpenCL two cards configured, it works only one

  • 5 Replies
  • 439 Views

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jeyjey

  • *
  • Fractal Friend
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • Cyberneticart
« on: September 09, 2018, 08:12:06 PM »
Hi, I have the latest CUDa driver. I have the latest opencl headers. I have the patest Mandelbulber version. In the preferences there is the GPU yellow slide that shows two Nvidia cards. During the rendering (fast) I noticed that only one board works. If I select the first and click ok, the follower render works on first board; otherwise, if I select the second and then I click OK, durind the following render only the second board works. They never works together. Has anyone an idea to work on? Thanks.

Linkback: https://fractalforums.org/mandelbulber/14/opencl-two-cards-configured-it-works-only-one/1833/
Morti cristi ... spenti lumi.

Offline buddhi

  • *
  • Fractal Friar
  • *
  • Posts: 143
    • Mandelbulber GitHub repository
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2018, 08:26:37 PM »
Mandelbulber cannot render on two GFX cards symultanously. This functionality is not implemented yet.

Offline jeyjey

  • *
  • Fractal Friend
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • Cyberneticart
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2018, 09:40:44 AM »
Many thanks for your reply. Are you really sure? And, do you know the state of the art about this argument? Are they planning to support multiGPU systems? Thanks.

Offline mclarekin

  • *
  • Fractal Freak
  • **
  • Posts: 711
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2018, 11:13:12 AM »
Hi jayjay, it is a good time to be using mandelbulber


In respect to mutli-GPU support, it has not been implemented yet because Mandelbulber devlopment is a hobby when time allows. Finishing duplication of all c++ functionality  to openCL is current top priority.  Implementation of most main enhancements requires Buddhi's time (Mandelbulber is Buddhi's creation).


I think that if you are animating, you can install two copies of Mandelbulber, one for each GPU, then render keyframes Start to Middle on one, and Middle to End on the other. But you have to input the start middle end keyframe numbers manually.


I suspect GPU net rendering will be implemented before multi-GPU.



You can also ask questions at facebook Mandelbulber group

Offline jeyjey

  • *
  • Fractal Friend
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • Cyberneticart
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2018, 03:02:59 PM »
Thanks. I will stay tuned with the Facebook group page.

Offline mancoast

  • *
  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 5
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2018, 01:33:34 AM »
Hello jeyjey,

I am experimenting with a developmental version that uses multiple GPU’s, however it doesn’t work correctly. This is something high on my priority list so given some time it will happen.

Thanks,
Mancoast


xx
MacOS OpenCL not working for Mandelboxes (but works with other fractals)

Started by fpsurgeon on Mandelbulber

19 Replies
414 Views
Last post February 17, 2020, 01:13:57 AM
by mclarekin
xx
Open CL not working with AMD pro drivers/ cards

Started by Dievolve on Mandelbulber

3 Replies
337 Views
Last post October 08, 2019, 02:01:46 PM
by R-TEAM
xx
Issue with volumetric lighting on AMD cards?

Started by Opiumis on Mandelbulber

11 Replies
113 Views
Last post May 20, 2020, 06:02:34 AM
by lycium
xx
The question about the possibility to sell 3D works

Started by ER2 on Mandelbulb3d

7 Replies
624 Views
Last post July 06, 2018, 11:14:28 PM
by Bill Snowzell
xx
How scripting works in Fractal Fr0st

Started by Tizawoot on Noob's Corner

0 Replies
175 Views
Last post February 13, 2019, 07:09:10 PM
by Tizawoot