Kalles Fraktaler 2 + GMP

  • 208 Replies
  • 5458 Views

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gerrit

  • *
  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 929
« Reply #150 on: January 31, 2018, 08:14:27 PM »

Potential quick hack: I could maybe add a toggle "auto-apply" next to the Apply button in the colour dialog that you could disable, but you would need to manually click Apply to see the results.  Would still be slow to see the results, but you would have more control over when to go get another cuppa.
Thanks for looking into it.
Yes a "disable auto-apply" button would help for final coloring.

Offline gerrit

  • *
  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 929
« Reply #151 on: February 05, 2018, 11:50:36 PM »
(A good reason to do large renders from the command line, is that the image isn't recoloured over and over, wasting CPU cycles that could be used for calculations).
Doesn't seem to work in 12.9.1. The image is still redrawn after every reference and even worse, the png is all black.
See attached rendered with -s .kfs -l .kfr -p tmp.png.

Offline claude

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 524
    • mathr.co.uk
« Reply #152 on: February 06, 2018, 12:38:08 AM »
The image is still redrawn after every reference

This is intentional - once per reference, instead of a delay of 200ms between redraws.


Quote
the png is all black.

Works for me.  I get a 41MB PNG that looks like a fractal.

Note: minimizing or resizing the window causes bad output, check the known bugs list.  If you are sure you did neither of those, and can reproduce the behaviour (try smaller image size for speed, perhaps), I'd appreciate your Windows version and possibly any window manager / compositor settings also if you tweaked any of that stuff.  If you can try with WINE that might be worth a shot too (afaik you can run WINE on Windows).

Offline gerrit

  • *
  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 929
« Reply #153 on: February 06, 2018, 12:49:07 AM »
Note: minimizing or resizing the window causes bad output, check the known bugs list.
OK, that must be it. I'm not going to keep a window open for days so I guess I'll wait till this is fixed before using.
For the image I actually want to render there are like 1000 glitches, all just a few pixels and relatively few iterations so it seems like most of the render time is coming from the slow redraws of the whole image every new reference?

Not a big deal, rendering normal works fine (and minimized).

Offline claude

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 524
    • mathr.co.uk
« Reply #154 on: February 06, 2018, 05:17:54 AM »
OK, that must be it. I'm not going to keep a window open for days so I guess I'll wait till this is fixed before using.

The only fix I can think of at the moment is forcing (in the KF code) the window to be made visible at the correct size before the final colouring and PNG save.  This may mean the window steals focus and a badly timed keypress or mouse click could cancel the entire render at the last minute.  If anyone knows Windows API and can figure out what is going wrong with minimized windows, I'd appreciate any tips.

BTW a workaround might be to save a kfb map from the command line and convert to png later, afaik that should be unaffected by minimization.

Quote
most of the render time is coming from the slow redraws of the whole image
That's possible indeed.

Maybe I should add another additional toggle in the colour dialog, to disable redrawing entirely.  Something like:
(X) Automatic Refresh (X) Automatic Apply (Apply) (Ok) (Cancel)
where
* disabling automatic refresh means there is no automatic refresh of the image display, either with a timer or at new references
* disabling automatic apply means changes in the colouring dialog don't cause a refresh
* apply button manually triggers a refresh
* ok and cancel buttons trigger a refresh too (for sanity)

Offline gerrit

  • *
  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 929
« Reply #155 on: February 06, 2018, 05:43:52 AM »
I'd prefer to have the CMD line rendering just to render to png and not show anything or do anything else but render to png.
But as I said I don't think it's important and should probably low on your priority list as far as I'm concerned.
I'd rather have Misiurewicz  zooming :)


Offline gerrit

  • *
  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 929
« Reply #156 on: February 13, 2018, 12:40:46 AM »
This location was ok at 11520*6480 with default glitch settings.
When I ran it again with "glitch low tolerance" at 1000 max glitches the attached was the result (right eye knocked out).
It's also noticeably "dirtier" than the default settings on (see https://fractalforums.org/image-threads/25/gerrit-images/565/msg4322#msg4322).

Offline claude

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 524
    • mathr.co.uk
« Reply #157 on: February 13, 2018, 12:57:11 AM »
my guess is that glitch low tolerance caused a different secondary reference to be chosen, which happened to lead to series overskipping in this instance, causing the "right eye" corruption.  KF has problems with series (over|under)skipping still unfortunately, and porting the more robust methods from smb or similar would be a huge task...

Offline gerrit

  • *
  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 929
« Reply #158 on: February 14, 2018, 10:15:34 PM »
Great. For reference below what I got from KF data and what I get with R=10000 computed directly.
 
The problem referred to in quoted msg has reappeared since 2.12.7 (2.12.6 still OK). Did you decrease bailout again accidentally?

Offline claude

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 524
    • mathr.co.uk
« Reply #159 on: February 14, 2018, 11:47:16 PM »
The problem referred to in quoted msg has reappeared since 2.12.7 (2.12.6 still OK). Did you decrease bailout again accidentally?
Nope.  2.12.9.1 has
Code: [Select]
#define SMOOTH_BAILOUT 10000 https://code.mathr.co.uk/kalles-fraktaler-2/blob/8a3399e833c75244a63bcd9a8e7faa299ce0915d:/fraktal_sft/fraktal_sft.h#l39
Also I searched the whole code for bailout and it definitely squares it before using for pixel squared magnitude escape tests.

Offline gerrit

  • *
  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 929
« Reply #160 on: February 15, 2018, 01:42:50 AM »
Found the problem: guessing was added (on by default) in 12.7. Without it it works fine again.

Offline claude

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 524
    • mathr.co.uk
« Reply #161 on: February 15, 2018, 03:14:31 PM »
I'd prefer to have the CMD line rendering just to render to png and not show anything or do anything else but render to png.
me too!  I think I got it working.  will be in the next release.

Offline gerrit

  • *
  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 929
« Reply #162 on: February 15, 2018, 07:39:25 PM »
Great, can we have some progress output to console? If it's at 0.1% after a day you may want to abort but when it's at 95% you don't.
(You probably already thought of that...)

Offline claude

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 524
    • mathr.co.uk
« Reply #163 on: February 15, 2018, 08:28:30 PM »
Detailed progress reporting (like the status bar in the GUI) may be a bit tricky. I'll think about it, would be nice to have (EDIT implemented it, works fine). So far it reports when it starts each new reference, and how big its owning glitch is, but it doesn't (yet) tell you how many pixels are finished and how many are still to do.  There is also no recovery/resume support - if it crashes (or power failure, or whatever) half way through you lose all calculations.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2018, 09:40:19 PM by claude, Reason: implemented console status »

Offline gerrit

  • *
  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 929
« Reply #164 on: February 15, 2018, 08:50:49 PM »
Just reporting references when they start is enough I think. All you need to know is that it's not stuck/taking years.

One problem though is how to fine-tune colors after it's done.
I recall there is a hacky trick (forgot the details) to rename the saved kfb and a copy to pretend to be part of a zoom sequence and then "examine" that. Any easy way to add a "load kfb" option (would have to prompt for a kfr file too)?

Found the "hacky" instructions, maybe good to repeat here (or in manual).
Code: [Select]
Edit colors from kfb + kfr:
Rename kfb to 00001_1.kfb
Copy to 00002_1.kfb
Put 2 files and kfr in a directory
File->Examine zoom sequence, select kfr file
Close "examine" dialog
Now you can edit colors
« Last Edit: February 15, 2018, 09:02:20 PM by gerrit »


xx
Kalles Fraktaler 2.13

Started by claude on Kalles Fraktaler

32 Replies
784 Views
Last post May 17, 2018, 08:25:07 PM
by CFJH
xx
Another version of Kalles Fraktaler?

Started by greentexas on Kalles Fraktaler

9 Replies
562 Views
Last post September 22, 2017, 02:59:16 PM
by greentexas
xx
Kalles Fraktaler Movie Maker64

Started by Bill Snowzell on Fractal movie gallery

0 Replies
111 Views
Last post February 01, 2018, 09:29:04 PM
by Bill Snowzell
xx
My last Kalles Fraktaler movie in year 2017

Started by Kalles Fraktaler on Fractal movie gallery

1 Replies
160 Views
Last post December 30, 2017, 04:40:46 PM
by quaz0r
xx
Where's Kalles

Started by skychurch on Off Topic

0 Replies
42 Views
Last post April 13, 2018, 01:49:45 AM
by skychurch