• June 21, 2021, 12:26:28 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic:  FragM 2.5.5  (Read 2129 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 3DickUlus

  • Administrator
  • *******
  • Posts: 2278
    • Digilantism
FragM 2.5.5
« on: January 27, 2021, 07:04:46 AM »
I hope I've squished the latest round of pre-re-introduced bugs  :skeptical: seems to be running smoothly here  :confused: ( thanks @claude  :thumbs: )

https://github.com/3Dickulus/FragM/releases/


Linkback: https://fractalforums.org/index.php?topic=4006.0

Offline Sabine62

  • 3f
  • ******
  • Posts: 1225
  • It's just a jump to the left...
    • sabine62.deviantart.com
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2021, 11:16:25 AM »
Found first bug within 10 seconds... sorry!!! :))
In winex I cannot enter any value manually for sliders, i.e. say the value is 3.299 and I type in 5, press enter and it reverts to 3.299.

Will hopefully have time to compile from source tonight or tomorrow and let you know how things behave then.

As always, Dick, I cannot thank you enough for developing this beautiful program!  :worship:


Update: took a closer look:

The comma denoting decimals is changed to a period, no idea if that or something thereabouts is the culprit.
 
When I change part of the value after the period to something else, it reverts to the old value.

When I change the whole value (selecting all of it and entering new value that does NOT start with 0), I get the previous value, does not matter if I enter the new value with period or comma (in case it's region-dependent)

When I change the whole value (selecting all of it and entering new value that Does start with 0), I get 0 as new value, no matter if I enter the new value with period or comma. After this I cannot enter any new value at all, unless it is 0 or 1!!! I must slide the slider to get a non-zero value.

If I enter a 1, I cannot enter a period after it, I can enter a comma though, but no decimals....
If I enter a 0, I cannot enter a period after it, I can enter a comma AND decimals, but as soon as I press enter, the value changes to 0.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2021, 11:48:16 AM by Sabine62 »
To thine own self be true

Offline 3DickUlus

  • Administrator
  • *******
  • Posts: 2278
    • Digilantism
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2021, 02:18:54 AM »
ugh! that should not be happening, it works as expected here (wine) and on the authentic windows 10 box.

I can type in ".5" or "0.5" etc... and it is accepted and applied ??? not sure what to do with this... maybe locale ?

 :fp:
« Last Edit: January 28, 2021, 05:52:10 AM by 3DickUlus »

Offline mclarekin

  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 870
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2021, 05:51:50 AM »
a quick check.  weird.  I can add decimals to default slider settings  ie if is starts off as 1 i can make it 1.23, but if i try to enter 5 it will not accept it.

v2.5.5 210127 win10

Offline 3DickUlus

  • Administrator
  • *******
  • Posts: 2278
    • Digilantism
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2021, 05:54:23 AM »
which slider widget ??? they all have different range limits, a slider with range 0 -> 2 will never accept 5 etc...

Offline mclarekin

  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 870
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2021, 05:58:22 AM »
ugg, you are right. i was too quick. It seems to be  working OK :embarrass:

Offline 3DickUlus

  • Administrator
  • *******
  • Posts: 2278
    • Digilantism
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2021, 06:00:23 AM »
:)) its ok Ive done worse :skeptical:

Offline 3DickUlus

  • Administrator
  • *******
  • Posts: 2278
    • Digilantism
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2021, 06:08:16 AM »

In winex I cannot enter any value manually for sliders, i.e. say the value is 3.299 and I type in 5, press enter and it reverts to 3.299.


that behaviour sounds like what is expected when an easing curve has been applied to a slider and the render mode is animation/stopped, as long as there is an easing curve attached and animation mode is engaged the easing curve has control of the widget value and will set it according to the frame you're  on.

but this is the only case where that is expected and you don't have an easing curve applied to this particular widget... do you? it's happening with all sliders?


Offline Sabine62

  • 3f
  • ******
  • Posts: 1225
  • It's just a jump to the left...
    • sabine62.deviantart.com
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2021, 02:28:31 PM »
OK, have compiled from source (no errors).
Behaviour is the same. On my machine since version 2.5.4 (that's why I am still on 2.5.3).
In 2.5.3 the decimal separator was a comma. This has changed to period in 2.5.4

I did some more extensive testing in 2.5.5 (with the examples I downloaded from github when I downloaded the 2.5.4 release, sitting in the winex-folder, but that should not make a difference)

see below...

Forgot to say: NO easing curves, attached the complete frag as .zip

Offline mclarekin

  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 870
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2021, 02:26:21 AM »
win64 zip.

testing sabines knighty pkdof_66 example, i have no problems, but cannot use commas.  Regional thing??  Change in QT libraries??

 But I cannot see where you can change regions.

Offline 3DickUlus

  • Administrator
  • *******
  • Posts: 2278
    • Digilantism
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2021, 02:53:18 AM »
execute from cmdline with --help option, you should see something like...

Code: [Select]
Usage: ./Fragmentarium-2.5.5 [options] [filename.frag]

Fragmentarium is a cross-platform IDE for exploring pixel based GPU graphics.

Options:
  -h, --help                    Displays this help.
  -v, --version                 Displays version information.
  --verbose <bool>              Sets reporting of shader variables and other
                                things to console.
  -a, --autorun <bool>          Execute auto-compile-run cycle at program
                                start.
  --style <stylename>           Sets the application GUI style.
                                Possible values are
                                'Breeze','bb10dark','bb10bright','cleanlooks','g
                                tk2','cde','motif','plastique','QtCurve','Window
                                s','Fusion'.
  --qstylesheet <qss filename>  Sets the application stylesheet. The value must
                                be a path to a valid .qss file.
  --editortheme <theme>         Sets the colour theme for the text editor.
                                Possible values are Default, Dark, Light, Retta
  -l, --language <language>     sets the application language.
                                Possible values are 'en','de','ru','nl'.
  -s, --script <fqs filename>   Fragmentarium script file to load. Must be
                                ".fqs" filename extention.
  -c, --compatpatch <bool>      Attempt to allow legacy shaders to run under
                                modern GL core profile.

Arguments:
  filename.frag                 initial fragment to open.

...not sure if the language setting goes any farther than just changing text, under the hood Qt may account for regional differences ( still need to bring that option into the Preferences gui )

I have turned off separator "," in Qt's number format it should accept 1000.00 and may not accept 1,000.00 ( for sliders with a range that large)

tip: there is a QStylesheet in Misc/qss/ folder for anyone that wants to try their hand at redesigning the look and feel  8)

edit: will look at the slider/spinner code and see about properly handling regional nuances....

Offline 3DickUlus

  • Administrator
  • *******
  • Posts: 2278
    • Digilantism
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2021, 05:35:33 AM »
Ok, I think I figured it out, @Sabine I'll pm some instructions to test.

Offline 3DickUlus

  • Administrator
  • *******
  • Posts: 2278
    • Digilantism
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #12 on: February 14, 2021, 12:12:54 AM »
Just posted v2.5.5-210213 binary packages in Downloads/Fragmentarium from the github repository

Added some tests that should allow FragM to run even if it doesn't find all of the required files, check the log window if you get a black preview screen, it should list the paths that it used when trying to locate includes. If files are not found then change the Edit->Preferences->Include Paths entry to point at the Include folder in the Examples folder.

You can set multiple paths to check by separating locations with ";"
Paths can be absolute or relative to the executable location, default is Examples/Include

Offline Sabine62

  • 3f
  • ******
  • Posts: 1225
  • It's just a jump to the left...
    • sabine62.deviantart.com
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #13 on: February 14, 2021, 10:29:16 PM »
Ohh new goodies ;)
Will get the source somewhen later this week

The paths: is there a sequence to which path will looked at first when specifying multiple?


Offline 3DickUlus

  • Administrator
  • *******
  • Posts: 2278
    • Digilantism
Re: FragM 2.5.5
« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2021, 05:57:59 AM »
I just pushed some commits that fixes the bracket matching in the syntax highlighter, it used to get confused if there was a line with .bra then a second line with .ket and .bra and a third line with .ket, only worked if each were on separate lines, now works properly for these " { } ( ) [ ] " types  :rock:

...so grab source via git pull or git fetch or... will be in next release (also reduced the spline path point size by about half)

paths: it should be in the order that you specify, the current fragment path is always checked first, then user paths.


clip
FragM 2.5.4

Started by 3DickUlus on Fragmentarium

52 Replies
2566 Views
Last post January 16, 2021, 02:21:19 AM
by 3DickUlus
xx
FragM 2.5.0

Started by 3DickUlus on Fragmentarium

53 Replies
2727 Views
Last post March 11, 2020, 04:21:46 PM
by 3DickUlus
clip
FragM 2.5.3 update

Started by 3DickUlus on Fragmentarium

97 Replies
5583 Views
Last post July 24, 2020, 04:27:24 AM
by 3DickUlus
clip
More lights for FragM

Started by 3DickUlus on Code Snippets (fragments)

10 Replies
518 Views
Last post July 12, 2019, 05:31:31 AM
by 3DickUlus
clip
frags for fragM

Started by kosalos on Code Snippets (fragments)

48 Replies
1958 Views
Last post October 23, 2019, 06:57:20 AM
by kosalos