• January 16, 2021, 10:36:06 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic:  FragM 2.5.4  (Read 1178 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mclarekin

  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 802
Re: FragM 2.5.4
« Reply #45 on: January 13, 2021, 05:33:54 AM »
@ Lorentzian,

there is no operation,hmmm? i am guessing that  the operation    abs(Power -1 )     produces a constatnt float not an int

this maybe a version issue, you might need to put  something like   #version 330 on line 1

Offline 3DickUlus

  • Administrator
  • *******
  • Posts: 1976
    • Digilantism
Re: FragM 2.5.4
« Reply #46 on: January 13, 2021, 05:43:29 AM »
@ Lorentzian, mclarekin

depending on your setup the typing may be more strict in FragM  edit: ie:weather or not Qt gives a core profile or compatibility profile for the GL

if Power is float
Code: [Select]
(int j = 0; j < abs(Power - 1.0); ++j)and then comparing to int...
Code: [Select]
(int j = 0; j < int(abs(Power - 1.0)); ++j)
edit: that is to say "no operation" to compare int and float without cast, the nVidia compiler is a bit loose with compliance so some things I get away with and some things I can't tell if it might be an issue for other hardware.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2021, 05:56:17 AM by 3DickUlus »

Offline mclarekin

  • 3c
  • ***
  • Posts: 802
Re: FragM 2.5.4
« Reply #47 on: January 13, 2021, 07:27:29 AM »
it is interesting the casting

Code: [Select]
(int j = 0; j < int(abs(Power - 1.0)); ++j)
will not work for me, but guessing #version 330 solves that problem for me (nvidia 960M win10)

 although it will not compile unless i convert this into a number

Code: [Select]
const float phi = (sqrt(5.0) + 1.0) / 2.0;
aah, there is always so much for me to learn :yes:

« Last Edit: January 13, 2021, 07:40:06 AM by mclarekin »

Offline Lorentzian

  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: FragM 2.5.4
« Reply #48 on: January 13, 2021, 09:19:36 AM »
Thanks 3DickUlus and maclarekin!

Offline FractalAlex

  • Fractal Frogurt
  • ******
  • Posts: 451
  • Experienced root-finding method expert
Re: FragM 2.5.4
« Reply #49 on: January 13, 2021, 01:55:56 PM »
that's good....but that's in the log window in the program when run from desktop :( run it from a console with the --verbose=true option and observe the text output in the console.

the windows package has 2 exe files, one for the desktop and one for console named Fragmentarium-2.5.4-console.exe


1. first it will create the groups, those are the tabs Camera Post Raytracer etc. and it will say "Creating new group -> Camera" etc...

2. then it will print that it's going to try to render something "Draw fragment program: 0"

3. so bind to the active buffer "Binding backbuffer (ID: 2) to active texture 0"

4. at this point it will initialize all of the uniforms and print the TYPE and NAME and VALUE for each one in the fragment shader program and also for the buffershader program


then it will repeat 2.3.4 for the second buffer, on a clean run from the console with the default mandelbulb fragment the last line will be "drawToFrameBufferObject: 1" until a click or drag or something causes more output.

by noting where it stops in the output a user will know what it was trying todo that caused the problem, or at least have an idea of where to start looking for potential issues.


The first time you run the program it shows this message...

Code: [Select]
This is your first run of Fragmentarium.
Please read this:

(1) Fragmentarium requires a decent GPU, preferably a NVIDIA or ATI discrete graphics card with recent drivers.

(2) On Windows there is a built-in GPU watchdog, requiring each frame to render in less than 2 seconds.
    Some fragments may exceed this limit, especially on low-end graphics cards. It is possible to circumvent this,
    see the Fragmentarium FAQ (in the Help menu) for more information.

(3) Many examples in Fragmentarium use progressive rendering, which requires Fragmentarium to run in Continuous mode.
    When running in this mode, Fragmentarium uses 100% GPU power.
   (but you may use the 'Subframe : Max' spinbox to limit the number of frames rendered. A value of zero means there is no maximum count.)

It says: drawToFrameBufferObject: 0. What does that mean?
"I am lightning, the rain transformed."
- Raiden, Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots

Offline 3DickUlus

  • Administrator
  • *******
  • Posts: 1976
    • Digilantism
Re: FragM 2.5.4
« Reply #50 on: January 14, 2021, 02:08:00 AM »
that's the last line printed before hang? that means it compiled the shader, set the uniform variables, but failed when attempting to render.

This probably has something to do with the render buffer/texture not getting allocated properly or, perhaps, allocated the wrong type ???

I don't think I can do anything with that, the all-in-one chip CPU/GPU is not recommended, FragM needs a discrete GPU ie: a gfx card with a decent GPU, preferably nVidia.

when I google your setup I find a lot of people have problems with it, usually with software render vs hardware rendering.



to really figure out exactly what the cause is I would enable GL debug output for every GL command in the sources and recompile the program, then run it on that hardware and observe the output (minimum GL 4.5 required for that)

Offline Recursed

  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: FragM 2.5.4
« Reply #51 on: Yesterday at 10:54:57 AM »
Looks like a lot has been added since I've last used it and I'd love to try it!

However, on Github it mentions
Quote
You can find pre-built packages for OSX 10.14.4, Ubuntu 18.0.4 Bionic, SuSE Leap 15.1 and Windows at https://github.com/3Dickulus/FragM/releases/

but there I only see two Linux and a Windows version. Am I overlooking something?

Offline 3DickUlus

  • Administrator
  • *******
  • Posts: 1976
    • Digilantism
Re: FragM 2.5.4
« Reply #52 on: Today at 02:21:19 AM »
opted out of travis-ci so can't build OSX package... open to suggestions.


xx
FragM 2.5.0

Started by 3DickUlus on Fragmentarium

53 Replies
2386 Views
Last post March 11, 2020, 04:21:46 PM
by 3DickUlus
clip
frags for fragM

Started by kosalos on Code Snippets (fragments)

48 Replies
1747 Views
Last post October 23, 2019, 06:57:20 AM
by kosalos
clip
FragM 2.5.3 update

Started by 3DickUlus on Fragmentarium

97 Replies
4931 Views
Last post July 24, 2020, 04:27:24 AM
by 3DickUlus
clip
More lights for FragM

Started by 3DickUlus on Code Snippets (fragments)

10 Replies
413 Views
Last post July 12, 2019, 05:31:31 AM
by 3DickUlus
clip
FragM 2.5.0 Problems and wishes

Started by SCORPION on Fragmentarium

35 Replies
1215 Views
Last post November 12, 2019, 05:57:22 AM
by 3DickUlus