FragM 2.5.0

  • 45 Replies
  • 861 Views

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 3DickUlus

  • *
  • 3e
  • *****
  • Posts: 1043
    • Digilantism
« Reply #30 on: October 20, 2018, 08:00:32 AM »
ran a few tests...

when preferences refreshrate == 0 tile mode isn't progressing, it needs refreshrate set to at least 1 to render tiled images

with refreshrate == 1 or refreshrate == 100 tiled image rendertime is the same, this refresh rate only has an impact on how the doublebuffered GLWidget is handled, all rendering is offscreen in FBOs
Resistance is fertile... you will be illuminated!

https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Fractals/fragmentarium

Offline 3DickUlus

  • *
  • 3e
  • *****
  • Posts: 1043
    • Digilantism
« Reply #31 on: October 23, 2018, 01:49:02 AM »
...something else to keep an eye on... https://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/MissingFunctionality/

Quote
GLX_ARB_create_context_profile GL Version 3.2 Mesa Version 8.0 Mesa drivers don't actually support profiles yet, and Xserver support for this extension has not be implemented. There is still work to do here.

...this may be an issue when using Mesa with FragM

Offline claude

  • *
  • 3d
  • ****
  • Posts: 979
    • mathr.co.uk
« Reply #32 on: October 25, 2018, 12:20:07 AM »
...something else to keep an eye on... https://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/MissingFunctionality/

Quote
Last edited Sat 13 Apr 2013 11:15:48 PM UTC

obsolete info, Mesa is at version 18 by now.

Offline 3DickUlus

  • *
  • 3e
  • *****
  • Posts: 1043
    • Digilantism
« Reply #33 on: October 25, 2018, 03:29:04 AM »
I haven't used Mesa (ever) so I'm not very familiar with where it's at, yeah from 11 Apr 2014 oops. :embarrass:

Offline timemit

  • *
  • Fractal Friar
  • *
  • Posts: 131
    • timemit@DeiantArt
« Reply #34 on: October 25, 2018, 11:19:11 AM »
Thanks as ever

Offline 3DickUlus

  • *
  • 3e
  • *****
  • Posts: 1043
    • Digilantism
« Reply #35 on: October 28, 2018, 06:12:45 AM »
You're very welcome timemit, I hope FragM continues to be useful.

to that end I've done a little work on the nVidia assembler dump, my plan is to get the variable names inserted into the asm code so it will be easier to make sense of it and see where particular things are happening. I've also done some work on the transition from QGLWidget to QOpenGLWidget, the initial "get it working" patches were just that, to get it working, now I have to clean up leftover bits that are irrelevant or don't work quite right, hack hack hack...

Offline 3DickUlus

  • *
  • 3e
  • *****
  • Posts: 1043
    • Digilantism
« Reply #36 on: March 17, 2019, 11:57:13 AM »
 :siren

With some input from FF users I think I've nailed down a few more bugs and hopefully haven't created any new ones  :P

thanks...

   Michael_Z_Freeman
   mclarekin
   Sabine62
   M Benesi
   fractalrock
   claude
   gerson

   ...and to all the users at FF2  :thumbs:

You can find the latest version in Downloads
« Last Edit: March 17, 2019, 07:29:30 PM by 3DickUlus »

Offline mclarekin

  • *
  • Fractal Frogurt
  • ******
  • Posts: 444
« Reply #37 on: March 18, 2019, 12:43:14 AM »
I have forgotten, what do i have to do when I get this when installing new Win10  version:


Quote
Could not create vertex shader: ERROR: 1:1: '' : syntax error: #version directive must occur in a shader before anything else
ERROR: 1:1: '' : illegal order of preprocessor directives

Offline 3DickUlus

  • *
  • 3e
  • *****
  • Posts: 1043
    • Digilantism
« Reply #38 on: March 18, 2019, 01:19:26 AM »
Is that with one of your shaders? I ran a test script that renders all shaders in the Examples folder and they all passed.

#version nnn [profile] is not required, defaults to #version 120 but when used it does have to be the very first line in the user shader

profile is optional compatibility or core

Offline mclarekin

  • *
  • Fractal Frogurt
  • ******
  • Posts: 444
« Reply #39 on: March 18, 2019, 01:59:18 AM »
I am not sure what is happening because I get this with using standard examples. But it may be the way i installed or something else.

Way i installed:

Unzipped into my This PC > Downloads folder, and ran it from there. Do I need to uninstall previous version?

Offline mclarekin

  • *
  • Fractal Frogurt
  • ******
  • Posts: 444
« Reply #40 on: March 18, 2019, 02:06:37 AM »
When I  do fresh install, instead of getting default mandebulb , i get the two previous  example frags I had loaded that were loaded when I closed.

If I create debug file and search for #version, it is not found

these versions still work OK for me:
Fragmentarium-2.5.0-190222-winex
Fragmentarium-2.5.0-181027.winex

win10 nVidia gtx960M

AHHHHH,  I think I know,  I need to go into nVidia settings and link new version to GTX960M
« Last Edit: March 18, 2019, 03:08:05 AM by mclarekin »

Offline mclarekin

  • *
  • Fractal Frogurt
  • ******
  • Posts: 444
« Reply #41 on: March 18, 2019, 03:35:14 AM »
yep Solved :embarrass:

Offline 3DickUlus

  • *
  • 3e
  • *****
  • Posts: 1043
    • Digilantism
« Reply #42 on: March 18, 2019, 03:48:04 AM »
the winex.7z file is a standalone installation and should have everything in place to run properly, you should be able to put that folder anywhere you want.

check the includes path under Edit->Preferences, it should be a realative path like Examples/Include, not absolute like C:\users\myplace\FragM\Examples\Include. That way each version will look in it's own folder for the Include files and such. It can handle multiple paths separated by ";"s

It remembers the last file(s) you had loaded and reloads them at startup, to clear the cache close all tabs and quit the program, the next time it runs it will load the default mandelbulb frag from it's local Examples folder... or at least that's how it behaves here... maybe need another option under preferences "Reload last loaded at startup [y/n]"? and verify that the running version is the same as the version that created the preferences settings.

Offline mclarekin

  • *
  • Fractal Frogurt
  • ******
  • Posts: 444
« Reply #43 on: March 19, 2019, 02:51:13 AM »
Latest release is working very well on win10 , thank you. 

Offline 3DickUlus

  • *
  • 3e
  • *****
  • Posts: 1043
    • Digilantism
« Reply #44 on: March 19, 2019, 04:37:58 AM »
 :toast: :horsie: :surfing


clip
FragM 2.5.0 update

Started by 3DickUlus on Fragmentarium

35 Replies
697 Views
Last post January 18, 2019, 12:00:54 AM
by Sabine62
clip
FragM thumbnail test

Started by 3DickUlus on Fragmentarium

6 Replies
359 Views
Last post October 06, 2017, 05:29:47 AM
by 3DickUlus
clip
Video processing in FragM

Started by 3DickUlus on Fragmentarium

1 Replies
361 Views
Last post September 15, 2018, 11:54:03 PM
by utak3r
xx
Support FragM 2.5.0-181216-winex (gerson)

Started by Sabine62 on Fragmentarium

17 Replies
336 Views
Last post December 27, 2018, 10:49:05 AM
by Sabine62
xx
Knighty Menger Sponge basic setup for FragM

Started by mclarekin on Fragmentarium

2 Replies
98 Views
Last post November 18, 2018, 11:27:00 AM
by timemit