Mandelbulb3Dv199 Mac Version - Premade App

  • 16 Replies
  • 1346 Views

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline WAUthethird

  • *
  • Fractal Phenom
  • ****
  • Posts: 42
« on: March 16, 2018, 01:13:49 AM »
This is a pre-made Mac version of the latest version of Mandelbulb 3D. It's great for people who either don't know how to use Wine, or don't want to bother with it. I made this because the prepackaged app I found on mandelbulb.com is outdated.

The .zip file includes everything you need. There's no need to have already installed Wine; it comes along with the app, and is run when you run the application. Saying that, the only drawback is that you can't modify formulas, but if you want to package a modified version yourself, I recommend WineBottler: http://winebottler.kronenberg.org/

And as for the file not being included above, this is because the file is 349.7 MB in size. This is because I included Windows binaries that run the program more effectively.

You can download the file here via Google Drive: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1HannaIesqNJQdjXKXahIt89m9RfXKPjV/view?usp=sharing

I hope this is useful to you. If not, please tell me, and I will try to fix it. I only have the one Mac, so it's not extensively tested on other systems, but it should work on Snow Leopard and above.

Thanks!

Offline Orpheus

  • *
  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 6
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2018, 09:13:41 PM »
Thanks for providing this app for macOS!

There are some minor glitches with the GUI, like window open behind the mein window (like the color chooser),
the Lighting window stays behind the formula window and there is no Quit menu or command to close the app.
Also the animation and the navigation window pop up behind the main window when opened.
when you move the main window, the Lighting window jumps back behind the formula window.

Can this be corrected?

Offline WAUthethird

  • *
  • Fractal Phenom
  • ****
  • Posts: 42
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2018, 10:31:07 PM »
Thanks for providing this app for macOS!

There are some minor glitches with the GUI, like window open behind the mein window (like the color chooser),
the Lighting window stays behind the formula window and there is no Quit menu or command to close the app.
Also the animation and the navigation window pop up behind the main window when opened.
when you move the main window, the Lighting window jumps back behind the formula window.

Can this be corrected?
These are all known problems with Wine, and appear no matter how you package the program. MacOS does program layers differently than Windows, and it is one of the only things in MacOS that cannot be fixed with Wine alone. The program should still be useable though. I'm not sure why there is no dropdown window when you click the program title at the top, or why Command-Q does not work. Nevertheless, you can still quit the program from Force Quit, or just by clicking the X icon on the main window of the program itself.

These are problems with Wine itself, and I can't correct them. If it really bothers you, I suggest you look for more info here: https://bugs.winehq.org/

Thanks for the feedback!

Offline Orpheus

  • *
  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 6
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2018, 11:04:22 PM »
Thank you for your reply!
I understand the problem, but I'm not sure, if I will understand the "winery" stuff, but I will have a look at it.

Offline Orpheus

  • *
  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 6
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2018, 12:50:07 PM »
There is another problem with this version:

Even when I set the image size to 8000 x 6000 for rendering, I only get a 72 dpi image with 800 x 600 pixel.
Why is this? Is the size in MB3D not measured in pixel?

(For higher sizes, I need to buy more memory. In the moment it's just 8 GB on the iMac)

Offline Orpheus

  • *
  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 6
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2018, 01:34:54 PM »
Strange enough: when I set the image size within MB3D to 3072 x 2304, I get a rendered result of 1024 x 768 pixel.
So I guess, this is due to low memory. (More RAM  is already ordered) :)

Offline WAUthethird

  • *
  • Fractal Phenom
  • ****
  • Posts: 42
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2018, 01:12:34 AM »
There is another problem with this version:

Even when I set the image size to 8000 x 6000 for rendering, I only get a 72 dpi image with 800 x 600 pixel.
Why is this? Is the size in MB3D not measured in pixel?

(For higher sizes, I need to buy more memory. In the moment it's just 8 GB on the iMac)

That's really odd; I've been able to render 8K pictures with 8 gigs of RAM just fine before. The display size within MB3D is scaled down to give the program more rendering memory, but the saved image should be full size. Perhaps you had Aspect Ratio selected (or forgot an extra 0?  :))) The program is run as a WinXP program, but I could try a more recent OS.

The best thing to do is just to fiddle with it some more, and see if it gets any better results. If you saved it as a JPEG, it might have compressed it to the aspect loss you got. Try turning Aspect Ratio off before you render and then save the picture as a PNG file. See if that works.

Oh, and if you didn't have enough RAM to render the image, you would have received an 'Out of Memory' error that the picture size selected is too large, and you would not be able to render it unless you manually scaled it down.

Hope this helps!  :)

Offline WAUthethird

  • *
  • Fractal Phenom
  • ****
  • Posts: 42
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2019, 05:36:58 AM »
There is another problem with this version:

Even when I set the image size to 8000 x 6000 for rendering, I only get a 72 dpi image with 800 x 600 pixel.
Why is this? Is the size in MB3D not measured in pixel?

(For higher sizes, I need to buy more memory. In the moment it's just 8 GB on the iMac)
Late update!
Ok, extremely late update, I know.  :))

So when using MB3D lately, I've discovered that the size that you're viewing the picture at in the render window affects the resolution of the saved image. I've run into the problem myself multiple times.

The fix? Zoom in on the picture (once rendered) as much as you can, and then save. This should save it in the resolution you chose.
I have no idea why this is, but it occurs on Windows as well. Not all the time, (which leads me to believe that it's a bug in the program itself) but enough that it gets annoying.

Hope this works!  :)

Offline Sabine62

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 563
  • It's just a jump to the left...
    • sabine62.deviantart.com
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2019, 11:15:18 AM »
When you save the image, be sure that Viewing is set to 1:1
Otherwise MB3D will downsize your image to the ratio you've set there.

No need to upgrade your memory, MB3D to my knowledge can only access 2-3GB (check the Mandelbulb3DReadme.html)
To thine own self be true

Offline 1bryan1

  • *
  • Supporter+
  • *
  • Posts: 25
« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2019, 11:26:04 AM »
Late update!
Ok, extremely late update, I know.  :))

So when using MB3D lately, I've discovered that the size that you're viewing the picture at in the render window affects the resolution of the saved image. I've run into the problem myself multiple times.

The fix? Zoom in on the picture (once rendered) as much as you can, and then save. This should save it in the resolution you chose.
I have no idea why this is, but it occurs on Windows as well. Not all the time, (which leads me to believe that it's a bug in the program itself) but enough that it gets annoying.

Hope this works!  :)
Correct regarding memory - MB3D is 32 bit.
Regarding the image rendered in the main window (where the Calculate 3D button lives).
When I render a 8000 x 6000 image, with zoom set to 1:1, my saved image is 8000 x 6000.
if you do what I do and zoom the image to 1:10 so you can see it while it is rendering ... and forget to unzoom before saving, the image saved will be 800 x 600.
However, my usual trick is to save images at 1:4 zoom (2000 x 1500) as that removes a good amount of the fuzzy / dots from the full image.
I save the m3i with image ticked (that can take several 100 MB of space, but you can come back and play with the image without re-rendering).

Offline Sabine62

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 563
  • It's just a jump to the left...
    • sabine62.deviantart.com
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2019, 11:58:17 AM »
@bryan1 MB3D has built anti-aliasing for 1:2 and 1:3, but if you save 1:4 you make no use of it.

From Mandelbulb3DReadme.html (which somehow no one seems to read :tease: ):

Quote
When saving a downscaled image in the BMP, PNG or JPEG file format, a good
antialiasing filter is performed before to give a better result
(for downscales of 1:2 and 1:3 only).
Note that images are stored downscaled, like the current view.

Offline 1bryan1

  • *
  • Supporter+
  • *
  • Posts: 25
« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2019, 01:55:07 AM »
@bryan1 MB3D has built anti-aliasing for 1:2 and 1:3, but if you save 1:4 you make no use of it.

From Mandelbulb3DReadme.html (which somehow no one seems to read :tease: ):
The resultant image at 1:4 (or any other zoom) has similar smoothing as far as I can see (specially if yo do not zoom in as I needed to do, which anti-aliasing would not help with anyway).
So anti-aliasing or not ... these are good enough for me.
See attached 1:1, 1:3 and 1:4 sections of a 7680x5760 image.

Offline Sabine62

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 563
  • It's just a jump to the left...
    • sabine62.deviantart.com
« Reply #12 on: January 13, 2019, 10:42:38 AM »
I have not written the program nor any insight into the internals of it, so can only state what the manual says  ;D (and added to that my own experiences with MB3D over the years).
If results at 1:4 are similar to 1:3 (and they are!), 1:3 seems most cost-effective with respect to render time (saves almost half of it).

Offline 1bryan1

  • *
  • Supporter+
  • *
  • Posts: 25
« Reply #13 on: January 14, 2019, 02:16:42 AM »
I have not written the program nor any insight into the internals of it, so can only state what the manual says  ;D (and added to that my own experiences with MB3D over the years).
If results at 1:4 are similar to 1:3 (and they are!), 1:3 seems most cost-effective with respect to render time (saves almost half of it).
Are you sure we are talking about the same thing?
I have not experienced any difference in rendering time with any of the zoom levels. Nor would I expect to see any as, irrespective of the zoom level, each pixel of a 7680x5760 image needs to be rendered. All the zoom is doing is reflecting that bitmap into a window of a certain size.
Saving a 1:3 image takes less time compared to 1:1 image; but you are talking about?

Offline Sabine62

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 563
  • It's just a jump to the left...
    • sabine62.deviantart.com
« Reply #14 on: January 14, 2019, 11:04:14 AM »
Quote
Are you sure we are talking about the same thing?
Oh my goodness, I truly hope we are!  :))  ;)

Ok let me start at the beginning of what I'm talking of:

If I render f.i. the initial formula when you open MB3D (Integer power), to get a decent sized end result of say simple HD 1920x1080 I need to render bigger and save the image at Viewing 1:2 or 1:3. Of course the bigger I render the more time that takes.

Here some benchmarking on my machine (i7-6700K-processor at 4Ghz, so would be different on other machine of course):

saving at Viewing 1:1 I need to render at 1920x1080 (end result is a saved image of 1920x1080) Main calc time 02.8s
saving at Viewing 1:2 I need to render at 3840x2160 (end result is a saved image of 1920x1080) Main calc time 10.4s
saving at Viewing 1:3 I need to render at 5760x3240 (end result is a saved image of 1920x1080) Main calc time 23.4s
saving at Viewing 1:4 I need to render at 7680x4320 (end result is a saved image of 1920x1080) Main calc time 41.5s

That difference in size of the actual rendered image makes for an increase in render-time of about the double. Hence I would not render to save at 1:4 when 1:3 gives similar results since a complex render (especially with transparencies and DoF) might take many hours longer...



xx
Tutorial French New Version Mandelbulber GPU version 2.14

Started by meletou on Mandelbulb Maniacs

2 Replies
151 Views
Last post July 23, 2018, 09:54:35 AM
by meletou
exclamation
New Version

Started by Lelle on Fractal Architect 5

3 Replies
251 Views
Last post May 21, 2018, 08:46:16 PM
by Fraktalist
xx
Linux Version

Started by who8mypnuts on Mandelbulb3d

7 Replies
327 Views
Last post December 07, 2018, 06:36:00 AM
by mancoast
xx
Cant load a m3p on PC version

Started by markfrancombe on Mandelbulb3d

4 Replies
201 Views
Last post March 16, 2018, 01:17:56 AM
by WAUthethird
xx
Microbes Have Their Own Version of the Internet

Started by Fraktalist on Fractal News

0 Replies
228 Views
Last post August 14, 2017, 12:11:55 AM
by Fraktalist