Infinity Fractal v1.0.13

  • 88 Replies
  • 4311 Views

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gerson

  • *
  • Fractal Friar
  • *
  • Posts: 140
« Reply #75 on: June 14, 2019, 09:36:12 PM »
try to do this:
choose mandelbrot power 2
insert julia -0.86,0.18
change to julia mode
after try to change bailout and see what happens.

Offline gerson

  • *
  • Fractal Friar
  • *
  • Posts: 140
« Reply #76 on: June 14, 2019, 09:58:13 PM »
I think there are a conflict betwen square zoom position (that define julia position) and julia const box. I tried with other type of fractal and it did the same, put only a "blank" image while I was changing parameters.
About "control s": sometimes I change only colors and it try to save the file with the same name that already was saved last file, so if it could refresh the time of the name it will be good.

Offline gerson

  • *
  • Fractal Friar
  • *
  • Posts: 140
« Reply #77 on: June 14, 2019, 11:27:21 PM »
tried to do if-screen.jpg and didn't get the image you did. When I put a value in Power and Newton Power it give that message "Must be a valid integer value".

Online mrrudewords

  • *
  • Fractal Furball
  • ***
  • Posts: 279
  • Dat Mandel!
« Reply #78 on: June 15, 2019, 12:17:53 AM »
I haven't released the next version yet ;) I will soon and you will be able to put double values in!
Z = Z2 + C (obvs)

Offline Sabine62

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 619
  • It's just a jump to the left...
    • sabine62.deviantart.com
« Reply #79 on: June 15, 2019, 10:50:50 AM »
I haven't released the next version yet ;) I will soon and you will be able to put double values in!

 Thank you again for all your work on this beautiful program, mrrudewords! :thumbs:

I have two favours to ask for a next version:
Can you also look at the issue I have with changing the size of the selection box with the mousewheel? It sometimes works and sometimes it just doesn't... and then after some minutes it works again. BUT might be a local problem here?
And if you have lots of time (no idea if this can be implemented without being a nuisance to resource as it seems some kind of watch-dog thingy is needed), can we have the possibility to stop the rendering process? If I accidentally have left on super sample when rendering the next test image, all I can do is forcefully terminate the program ;D
« Last Edit: June 15, 2019, 11:04:40 AM by Sabine62 »
To thine own self be true

Offline Sabine62

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 619
  • It's just a jump to the left...
    • sabine62.deviantart.com
« Reply #80 on: June 15, 2019, 02:39:59 PM »
About the Julia: what I notice is that f.i. in the Nova formula:
Julia-mode is active, but I get the same result when I choose

Julia 0.21, -1
or
Julia 21,-1!

When I save with Julia 0.21,-1 and reload parameters the values are indeed changed to 21,-1

Interesting! :}

Online mrrudewords

  • *
  • Fractal Furball
  • ***
  • Posts: 279
  • Dat Mandel!
« Reply #81 on: June 15, 2019, 10:39:25 PM »
I'm not seeing any of these Julia mode issues :S

I think that one issue is that when you select Julia mode, the current x, y coordinates will become the julia const (as it always has). I am changing this so the parameter will be updated on screen so it is obvious. So you should only try to edit the julia parameter once in julia mode. In-fact, I will see if I can get it to only be available in julia mode.

Online mrrudewords

  • *
  • Fractal Furball
  • ***
  • Posts: 279
  • Dat Mandel!
« Reply #82 on: June 16, 2019, 12:01:20 AM »
NEW VERSION 1.0.13

Changed all calculation Power parameters to doubles rather than ints. You can make some interestingly broken looking fractals with this.
Added shortcut Ctrl+Q to stop processing. Press if you don't want the current render/recolour operation to complete.
Added display of which tiles are currently being processed to better show progress. This can be disabled in the config file.
Added missing variables to mandelfoam variant functions.
Changed Julia const parameter to be hidden when not viewing in Julia mode
Fixed bug where changing layer opacity would recolour the image twice (resulting in a length of time where seemingly nothing was happening).
Added new option in config file to define the save name format.

Offline Sabine62

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 619
  • It's just a jump to the left...
    • sabine62.deviantart.com
« Reply #83 on: June 16, 2019, 09:09:40 AM »
Thank you, mrrudewords! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
Julia is fine now, non-integer powers are great to have, and I am Very happy with the option to stop a render  :yes:

Online mrrudewords

  • *
  • Fractal Furball
  • ***
  • Posts: 279
  • Dat Mandel!
« Reply #84 on: June 16, 2019, 09:19:18 AM »
Thanks, nice image. Happy to make improvements. Feel free to keep the suggestions coming.

Offline gerson

  • *
  • Fractal Friar
  • *
  • Posts: 140
« Reply #85 on: June 17, 2019, 05:00:17 PM »
Liked very much new improvements.

@Sabine62 "Can you also look at the issue I have with changing the size of the selection box with the mousewheel? "
I got the same problem so I simulate to set new coloring mode and it returns to work.

Offline Sabine62

  • *
  • Fractal Frankfurter
  • *
  • Posts: 619
  • It's just a jump to the left...
    • sabine62.deviantart.com
« Reply #86 on: June 18, 2019, 09:26:26 AM »
@gerson Glad I am not the only one with that issue  :D Your tip is great, until now I had only found that if I change resolution it would work again.
Thank you! :)  :thumbs:

Online mrrudewords

  • *
  • Fractal Furball
  • ***
  • Posts: 279
  • Dat Mandel!
« Reply #87 on: June 18, 2019, 10:26:51 AM »
@Sabine62 @gerson Unfortunately I am not seeing this issue myself, which makes it rather difficult to fix. Are you able to identify when it happens, i.e. if it ocurrs after you do something specific? If you can give me some steps to try to replicate the issue I should be able to sort it out.

Note: I've noticed a few new bugs I've managed to put in:

If you click the colouring gradient length slider while it's already working, it seems to double up on recolouring and really thrashes the CPU. I am fixing this by disabling all controls while the app is busy.

Also, there's a strange issue where it tries to save images with a name that doesn't follow the format, so I'm looking into that too.

Offline gerson

  • *
  • Fractal Friar
  • *
  • Posts: 140
« Reply #88 on: June 18, 2019, 03:58:57 PM »
@ mrrudewords that problem occurs when one use the zoom function. Zoom the image and after try to change the size of the zoom square using mousewheel in sequence, without doing other action. If you try to do other thing it let the square be changed again (just turn to other program, try set new power or iteration or coloring mode...).
I suggest you let:
"control s" to "save as" option -> save image and parameter at the same time with same new name
and control shift p to save only parameter
and control shift s to save only image (don"t need to ask to save parameter here and it suggest the actual name as all software does).
This let more simple to user understand.
I noticed that sometimes it didn's suggest new name with control s and sometimes it create a image without extension on program directory.
The julia function has strange behavior. I choose a zoom image in mandelbrot and set to julia mode. It set julia box to -0,576374514116629,-0,631165823016141. So I try to change the value (for example to -0,5763745141166,-0,631165823016141) just delete two last digits from real part and try to change bailout so program advice that will full recalculate and give a black image.
I think the julia value is in conflict betwen sqare soom position and julia box value so it crash.
Suggest to let user change coordinates. So it would have 3 box, x, y and scale (that would be used to x and y). Is necessary to take care to don't be conflict betwen this box and zoom square too.
One option to clean code is a run/stop (control R/control Q) botton or to set every box proprieties to run image when mouse out (I dont know the right term) or "enter" occurs.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2019, 04:11:57 PM by gerson »


xx
Infinity Fractal 1.0.7

Started by mrrudewords on Downloads

0 Replies
139 Views
Last post January 29, 2019, 11:33:07 AM
by mrrudewords
xx
The Edge of Infinity - Mandelbrot Fractal Zoom (e2011, 4k 60fps, 2hrs 30min)

Started by saka on Fractal movie gallery

0 Replies
131 Views
Last post March 14, 2018, 01:27:20 PM
by saka
xx
How big is infinity?

Started by Nintendokater on Fractal movie gallery

1 Replies
92 Views
Last post March 19, 2019, 12:35:13 AM
by Paigan0
xx
Infinity

Started by kohlenstoff on Fractal Image Gallery

0 Replies
79 Views
Last post June 25, 2018, 10:52:40 PM
by kohlenstoff
xx
Red Dwarf Infinity

Started by Tater on Fractal Image Gallery

0 Replies
73 Views
Last post March 07, 2018, 07:26:22 PM
by Tater