GPU engine

  • 14 Replies
  • 703 Views

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sanbase

  • *
  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 7
« on: July 17, 2018, 07:21:58 PM »
http://www.sanbasestudio.com/tmp/GPU_Engine.zip

The GPU_Engine is a tool designed primarily to generate 3D fractals in real time.
You can save images in high resolution, as well as look at the fractals in VR mode using the Oculus Rift.
Generation occurs on the GPU, which allows you to reduce the computation time by two orders of magnitude compared to CPU.
If you have several graphics adapters, you can additionally increase the rendering speed, because the application supports multi-adapter mode.
The source codes of the shaders and functions are open and you can edit them and add your own inventions. :)
Limitations:
Windows 10 is required
The video card must be at least GTX 780 or R9 280

« Last Edit: July 23, 2018, 07:09:58 PM by sanbase »

Offline WAUthethird

  • *
  • Fractal Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 38
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2018, 07:50:47 PM »
Very cool program you have here, though the constant rendering I feel is a bit of a problem. Is it possible to turn it off and modify the parameters without immense slowdowns?

It does need a bit of work, admittedly. Other than that, I feel that it has the potential to grow into an amazing program!

Offline kohlenstoff

  • *
  • Fractal Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2018, 09:41:18 PM »
Great idea and i waited for such quite a while, since even my new computer requires still lot of time to compute fractals.

I have two first suggestions:

-This programm should allways start in paused mode and rendering should start on initial command. So people with weak graphics cards (yes, thats the part i saved money to get a better CPU instead because until maybe soon  ;) i have no reason to have a strong GPU) will have a chance to configure the program properly without lagging
-The GUI off switch should not switch the programm off without a question.

I will follow this project!!!

Offline sanbase

  • *
  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2018, 10:42:07 PM »
I have updated the build (just download and reinstall it). The new version allows you to move in the VR mode (using Oculus Touch or Remote)
Quote
This programm should allways start in paused

I do not think this makes sense, because then you can not rotate the image, change the parameters, etc. If you have a weak video card, so probably then you should use Mandelbulber. It will work slower, but at least you can edit the fractal.

The idea of this program is that it would sharply raise the speed of rendering using parallel computations on the GPU. Modern video cards are hundreds of times more productive than the CPU. But if you do not have an appropriate video card ....
OK. I tried to make an adaptive setting. Now the program at the start checks the rendering time and, if it is less than 10 fps, reduces the window size. Three dimensions are available: 1920x1080(default), 1440x720 and 1024x512. I tested this algorithm on my oldest card (GTX 680) and, in the worst cases, the rendering speed was within 6-7 fps. It is not perfect but acceptable. On my system (GUI: AMD R9 Nano, Rendering: Titan V + Titan P) the FPS never falls below 30 fps (1920x1080).

One tip - use "Microsoft Basic Render Driver" as a GUI adapter (it's default now). Drawing the buttons can be performed on the CPU, it will at least slightly relieve the main video card.

Offline kohlenstoff

  • *
  • Fractal Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2018, 11:46:50 PM »
Quote
I do not think this makes sense, because then you can not rotate the image, change the parameters, etc. If you have a weak video card, so probably then you should use Mandelbulber. It will work slower, but at least you can edit the fractal.
Quote
The idea of this program is that it would sharply raise the speed of rendering using parallel computations on the GPU. Modern video cards are hundreds of times more productive than the CPU. But if you do not have an appropriate video card ...
I know about this, otherwise i would not have been so happy about such program. Since i use my Computer for CPU intensive stuff like programming, fracals ect. and don't have any desire for 4K gaming, i spent my budget on a I7 8700K and an GT 1030 instead of an balanced or twice as expensive build. So i can make now fractals and other stuff and update graphics later when there is a reason too. To find out, if your program is a reason, i need to tryout first if its worth it. So i would like to see some frames even if these are now slower than mandelbulber on my CPU.

Offline sanbase

  • *
  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2018, 05:09:31 AM »
Quote
Since i use my Computer for CPU intensive stuff like programming, fracals ect. and don't have any desire for 4K gaming, i spent my budget on a I7 8700K and an GT 1030 instead of an balanced or twice as expensive build.

How many frames per second do you have now at 1030? (you need to download the latest build). I looked at its specs - this GPU is not much worse  than GTX 680, i.e. you can expect 6-7 frames per second at a resolution 1024x512. I'm more concerned about the memory size - 2GB may not be enough for VR, although it should work in 2D mode.

If you decide to upgrade the video card, do not throw away the old one, you can use two cards, that will increase the speed by at least twice.
Take a look how two different cards work in parallel:


Offline mclarekin

  • *
  • Fractal Furball
  • ***
  • Posts: 299
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2018, 06:24:50 AM »
Unfortunately I don't have the GPU power for the program, but when I do I will  love to try this out.

IMHO, anything produced by  sanbase has always been very cool.

Offline kohlenstoff

  • *
  • Fractal Fanatic
  • ***
  • Posts: 35
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2018, 10:29:11 PM »
Was able to take a first sight on your updated version. It is awesome, how effective it calculates such a complex fractal. Thanks for your modifications. With your suggestion of choosing "Microsoft Basic Render Driver" as a GUI adapter and your new starting configuration its running enjoyable on my 1030. Mandelbulber is only that fast on my CPU on some of the simplest fractals. Your presets are great and the graphics are flawless!

I will take further looks the next days.

Offline sanbase

  • *
  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2018, 06:49:59 PM »
This programm should allways start in paused mode and rendering should start on initial command.

I found a compromise between completely stopping the rendering and the ability to update the image. Now, if the program is in "Pause" mode, then the picture is updated only if you move the sliders. All the rest of the time, only the GUI panel is updated. So, let's save electricity!  :)

Offline timemit

  • *
  • Strange Attractor
  • ******
  • Posts: 80
    • timemit@DeiantArt
« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2018, 12:48:44 PM »
looks great , a bit crashy but doubtless down to me twiddling the settings too much.  Very smooth otherwise . Also my antiVirus stuff doesn't like it!

Offline sanbase

  • *
  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2018, 06:11:56 PM »
The current version has been updated.

Offline FractalDave

  • *
  • Fractal Fruit Salad
  • *****
  • Posts: 63
    • Makin Magic Fractals
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2018, 09:47:07 PM »
Any chance of a native Mac version ?
The meaning and purpose of life is to give life purpose and meaning.

Offline JosLeys

  • *
  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 8
« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2018, 02:10:04 PM »
On my machine Norton Security says it is dangerous and will not let me install it. A pity!

Offline sanbase

  • *
  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #13 on: August 30, 2018, 04:03:36 PM »
Quote
Any chance of a native Mac version ?

This application is written on DirectX 12, so it's technically impossible...  :(

Quote
On my machine Norton Security says it is dangerous and will not let me install it

Perhaps this is due to the fact that Oculus SDK tries to send request to the Oculus server. I do not see any other explanation. In any case, there is nothing dangerous or malicious.

Offline sanbase

  • *
  • Fractal Freshman
  • *
  • Posts: 7
« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2018, 04:21:21 PM »
On my machine Norton Security says it is dangerous and will not let me install it. A pity!
I know why your antivirus swears on my application!
The thing is that the main application (Engine.exe) calls another application - a text editor for editing / debugging shaders (TextEdit.exe). The antivirus does not like this function, although in this particular case there is nothing really dangerous.
You can make an exception for this program (I do not know Norton Security, but Avast has such option). Well, or temporarily turn off the check, install the program, and then turn it on again.

This is screenshot of TextEdit:

« Last Edit: September 01, 2018, 02:17:40 AM by sanbase »


xx
No search engine?

Started by AnJo888 on Off Topic

4 Replies
187 Views
Last post June 04, 2018, 04:03:49 PM
by Caleidoscope